According to a July 2015 Gallop Poll, 1 in 5 Americans include gluten-free foods in their diets. Gluten isn't limited to food, though! It's also in medicines and alcohol.
So before you hit the bar on Friday night, let's look at some drinks that are in the safe-zone. As always, moderation is key!
We know from previous posts that gluten is a form of protein found in wheat, rye and barley and their derivatives. Though wheat-based vodka is supposed to be free from gluten protein due to the distillation process, those with a gluten aversion have reported feeling sick after its consumption. So, opt for non-wheat, potato, corn, or grape based vodka, which are typically cleared for gluten free consumption.
Try: Ciroc, Smirnoff, Three Olives and Tito's
Tequila, when traditionally made from 100% agave, is naturally gluten-free. However, some types of tequila known as "mixto" may not be. Always check with the manufacturer to be safe, or try some of our suggestions below.
Try: 1800, Don Julio, Patron, Cabo Wabo
Distilled from sugar cane, most rums are gluten-free. Nevertheless, be cautious when it comes to drink mixes, as many of these contain gluten for flavoring.
Try: Bacardi Gold, Mount Gay, Captain Morgan
There is a difference of opinion around whether or not whiskey is safe for those that cannot handle gluten. The FDA considers whiskey to be gluten-free (according to its standard of less than 20 parts per million) due to the role distillation plays in removing the protein. However, the Celiac Sprue Association does not recommend any form of whiskey.
Try: Queen Jennie Whiskey [this is made entirely from sorghum in a facility that does not use wheat, barley or rye]
Almost all beer contains gluten but a growing number of breweries have begun to serve up brands safe for celiacs and those with gluten intolerance.
Try: Daura (my favorite!), Green's, Omission [check out more tasty gluten-free beer alternatives here]
While cider is typically a safe option for those on a gluten-free regimen, some makes do include barley, which might irritate those with an intolerance.
Try: Strongbow, Crispin, Angry Orchard